Using user criteria, we can configure the announcement visibility for users. You may experience announcement visible to all user even after setting user criteria
Announcement is set to 'Public'. Public announcement doesn't evaluate user criteria.
Open the announcement and set the 'public' to 'false' and save the record. Now 'Public' is not checked, user criteria will get applied to the announcement