When the user removes the Public role in the Sharing setting of a report and saves the report. The public role will still appear when navigating back to Sharing settings. As seen in the screenshot below:
The public role will be added to the Sharing Settings when the report is published.
Unpublish the report and the public role can be removed from the Sharing setting
Publish a Report - London documentation