Users remain logged in after browser is closed and reopened even though remember_me is not checked, which is a change in behavior between Fuji and Geneva. This is due to the glide_user_activity cookie keeping the user logged in even when remember_me is not checked.

Steps to Reproduce

  1. Login as admin on chrome on a Geneva/Helsinki instance
  2. Ensure remember_me is not checked.
  3. After logging in, close the browser and quit the browser
  4. Navigate to the instance through Chrome again

    Geneva and later: User is logged in because of the glide_user_activity cookie.


For the workaround on Helsinki is to change the property, glide.ui.user_activity_cookie, to false

On Geneva, the workaround is, please remove before upgrading to Istanbul:

Add Business Rule to sys_user_token table: 

  • Description: The purpose of this business rule is to disable the Session Transfer ('glide_user_activity' cookie) feature. For releases of Helsinki forward the property glide.ui.user_activity_cookie set to false disables the feature as well and it is the preferred approach.
    The business rule also disables the Remember me feature. 
  • When: Before
  • On: Insert/Update
  • Script:
    (function executeRule(current, previous /*null when async*/) {
    current.token = "";
    })(current, previous);

    Add the Glide Property below on sys_properties as follow:
  • Name: glide.ui.user_activity_cookie
  • Type: true / false
  • Value: false

Related Problem: PRB647362

Seen In

Eureka Patch 11 Hot Fix 2
Eureka Patch 13 Hot Fix 2
Eureka Patch 13 Hot Fix 5
Fuji Patch 10
Fuji Patch 12
Fuji Patch 12 Hot Fix 1
Fuji Patch 6
Geneva Patch 1
Geneva Patch 3
Geneva Patch 3 Hot Fix 2
Geneva Patch 4
Geneva Patch 5
Geneva Patch 6
Geneva Patch 7
Geneva Patch 8
Geneva Patch 9
Helsinki Patch 1
Helsinki Patch 2
Helsinki Patch 3 Hot Fix 2
Helsinki Patch 4
Helsinki Patch 5

Fixed In


Associated Community Threads

There is no data to report.

Article Information

Last Updated:2017-12-07 19:58:38