Controlling the Create Content button in the Knowledge application 

In the Knowledge application, users can create new knowledge base articles by clicking the Create Content button.


You can control if the Create Content button appears.
Control through Knowledge Management v2
In KMv2, v2 ACLs (not user criteria), are used:
  • the current ACLs do a condition check to determine the version to which an article is attached
  • the ACLs determine if the ACL's core user criteria should be applied
  • the release version is determined by the knowledge base to which the article belongs
If an article is new and no default value is supplied for the article, there is no knowledge base associated with the article and the condition check on the ACL fails. To resolve this, follow the steps below to add the knowledge base named "Knowledge" as a default value in the kb_knowledge table:

Note: Test this process on a non-production environment first.


  1. Log in to the instance as an admin.
  2. Navigate to Knowledge > Administration > Knowledge Bases.
  3. In the Title column, right-click on the Knowledge knowledge base and select Copy sys_id.
  4. Navigate to System Definition > Dictionary.
  5. Search for:
    • Table = kb_knowledge
    • Column name = kb_knowledge_base
  6. Open the record.
  7. Go to the Default Value section or tab.
  8. Clear the Use dynamic default option.
  9. In Default value, paste the sys_id you copied in step 3.
  10. Save the record.
Control through Knowledge Management v3
If you have KMv3, you do not need to set a default knowledge base. However, you do need to make sure there is user criteria defined for the Can Contribute user criteria on v3 knowledge bases. All users that match the user criteria will see the Create Content button. If your user does not meet any of the user criteria, they will not see the button. If no Can Contribute is defined on any v3 Knowledge base, then all users will see the Create Content button (default behavior). 
How it all works
The Create Content button is based 100% on user criteria.

Note that if there are two knowledge bases and the user only has user criteria matching one of them, then the user sees the Create Content button. The user can only create an article for:
  • the knowledge base they have Can Contribute user criteria for
  • any knowledge base that has no Can Contribute user criteria defined
Migrating to Knowledge Management v3
We recommend migrating from KMv2 to KMv3. There are more security controls applied in KMv3 that allow you to easily set which users can/cannot access and create content. If you have not already migrated to KMv3 and want more information about how to get started, see Migrating to KMv3.

Article Information

Last Updated:2017-03-03 09:04:24