6210 views

Deactivating and activating HI users 

 

Overview

Customer administrators can set a user to inactive. This is useful if, for example, a user no longer works for the company.

Also, if a HI user does not log into HI for the following number of days, their account is automatically deactivated:

  • Commercial customers: 90 days
  • Federal customers: 60 days

Users can contact their customer administrator and ask that their account be activated again. 

You cannot delete users, but you can change a user's status to inactive. ServiceNow keeps all users in the HI administration database with either an active or inactive status. This approach allows us to retain the user reference on incidents, problems, and changes.

 

Deactivating a user
  1. Navigate to hi.service-now.com.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Enterprise and Express customers, click Manage Accounts > Users
    • ServiceWatch customers, click Self-Service > Administration > Manage Users
  3. Click a Name.
  4. Click Deactivate user.
  5. Read the confirmation alert.


    Enterprise customers click Deactivate user in the HI Service Portal

Activating a user


  1. Navigate to hi.service-now.com.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Enterprise and Express customers, click Manage Accounts > Users
    • ServiceWatch customers, click Self-Service > Administration > Manage Users
  3. Click a Name.
  4. Click Activate.
  5. Read the confirmation alert. 

 

Article Information

Last Updated:2017-01-06 11:25:11
Published:2015-03-27