473 views

Determining if there is an out-of-sync workflow after an update set 

 

Symptoms


Symptoms may include the following: 
  • Workflow missing a switch
  • Duplicate worfkflows
  • Duplicate approvals

 

Workflow Contexts are tied to the workflow on which they started


There can be more than one workflow with the same name. When a workflow is initiated, it creates a workflow context, which is essentially the running instance of the workflow. This context is associated with a current record, which is the record that was created or changed and caused the workflow to start.

The context record has a hard reference to the workflow version that it was started with and the current record. 

Therefore, even if a workflow stops or a new version is created, the exact version that the workflow started with is retained and used throughout the execution of the context.

 

 

 

Duplicate contexts (pre-Calgary)


Prior to the Calgary release, it was possible to have more than one published workflow start when a record was inserted. Essentially, the old and new verisons would both run. This was corrected in Calgary so that only the most recent published version runs when a record is created or updated.

  

Understanding and managing multiple published versions


It is possible that applying an update set to an instance can create a second published version of a workflow with a different sys_id. To determine if this is the case, follow these steps:

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. View the Workflow Versions table.
  3. At the filter bar above the glide list, select All.
  4. Sort the records by name and locate those that match the workflow of interest.
  5. If there are duplicate published workflows with the same name, either delete the older one or mark one of them Active:false. 

 

 

Article Information

Last Updated:2015-05-02 11:46:37
Published:2014-05-14